Area Events - Roswell Astronomy Club

Go to content

Main menu:

Area Events of Interest submitted by
Astronomy Clubs and Other Organizations

PROPOSED DATES FOR ASTRONOMY EVENTS 2016*
Planets listed in order of set time – look at earliest setters first
Brantley Lake State Park– at East Side Campground
TIMES
DATE START LASER HIGHLIGHT
Fri. June 10 8:30pm 9:30pm J, M, S: fat crescent moon
Fri. July 8 8:30 p.m. 9:30pm J, M, S: crescent moon
Sat. Aug. 27 8:00pm 9:00pm J, M, S: Jup & Venus .2 degrees apart
Fri. Sept. 9 7:30pm 8:30pm V, S, M 1st quarter moon
Fri & Sat, Oct.
21 & 22
7:15
Sunset 6:16
8:00pm DESERT STARLIGHT V,S,M
Saturday,
Oct. 22
4-6 pm solar
viewing
DESERT STARLIGHT
For Desert Starlight (Sunset 6:16), we will have one PowerPoint program each night
at 6:30pm. Desert Starlight is set up at the East Side Day Use Group Shelter.
Planets visible: V, S, M: 3rd quarter moon - Telescope viewing until 11 p.m.
Living Desert State Park
DATE EVENT TIMES HIGHLIGHT
START LASER
Fri. Feb. 12 Star Party 6:00pm 7:30pm No planets; crescent moon
Fri. March 11 Star Party 6:30pm 7:30pm J: thin crescent moon
Fri. Apr. 8 Star Party 8:00pm 9:00pm J: one day after new moon
Sat. Apr. 23 Solar Viewing
Out Front
11:00am Earth Day Festival
Fri. May 6 Star Party 8:30pm 9:30pm J: new moon
Sat. May 14 Solar Viewing 11:00am Native American Heritage Day
Sat. Sept. 24 Solar Viewing 11:00am Public Lands Day
Fri. Nov. 4 Star Party 6:00pm 7:00pm S, V, M: crescent moon
Living Desert State Park: Full Moon Walks
DATE SUNSET/MOONRISE ENTRANCE TIME
Sat. May 21 – First One Sun 7:53; moon 7:49 8:00 - 8:30 p.m.
Sat. June 18 Sun 8:06; moon 6:35 8:00-8:30pm - small scope only
Sat. July 16 Sun 8:04; moon 5:20 8:00 – 8:30 p.m. – 89% moon
Thurs. Aug. 18 Sun 7:37; moon 7:57 7:45 – 8:15 p.m.
Fri. Sept. 16 Sun 7:00; moon 7:12 7:00 – 7:30 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 15 – Last One Sun 6:23; moon 6:26 6:30– 7:00 p.m.
For Full Moon Walks, visitors walk through at their own pace, but the entrance to the zoo is limited
to a half-hour so that the staff and volunteers can get home at a reasonable time.
We often have free concerts starting about 1 ½ hours before the moon walks.
Astronomers set up their scopes with filters to look at the Full Moon.
*All astronomy events are weather dependent and may be cancelled if it is too cloudy or windy.
For any questions, call Kathryn at Living Desert State Park (575)887-5516


Enchanted Skies Star Party, 23rd annual
October 26-29, 2016
Magdalena Forest Service Dark Sky Site (34.124224, -107.315520), 15 minutes from Magdalena, NM
$50 per adult for all four days, $15 per adult for Saturday ONLY, Children,
17 and under, are FREE with paying adult See www.enchantedskies.org for all updates and registration or contact Judy Stanley, Education Officer, NRAO 505-515-5780 The 23rd annual Enchanted Skies Star Party offers a unique Southwestern astronomy experience with many exciting features. Private tours of the NRAO/Very Large Array and Magdalena Ridge Observatory will be offered along with astronomy lectures, activities and awesome dark sky observing!


 
Copyright 2015. All rights reserved.
Back to content | Back to main menu